Office History

The Los Angeles County District Attorney's Office was created by an act of the California State Legislature on Feb. 27, 1850. There have been 42 District Attorneys who have served the county, starting with William C. Ferrell. You may learn more about each District Attorney below.

Steve Cooley

2000 - 2012

Steve Cooley joined the District Attorney’s Office in 1973 as a law clerk. He became a deputy district attorney later that year.

Jackie Lacey


District Attorney Jackie Lacey has spent most of her professional life as a prosecutor, manager and executive in the Los Angeles County District Attorney’s Office.